I am a CNRS research scientist at IRIF, Université Paris Cité. I received my PhD from École Normale Supérieure de Paris (ENS) in November 2017, under the supervision of David Pointcheval and Hoeteck Wee. In 2017 – 2019, I was a postdoctoral researcher at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), in the team of Dennis Hofheinz.

My main research interests are secure multiparty computation and zero-knowledge proofs (both foundational and practical aspects), as well as the theoretical foundations of cryptography. For an up-to-date list of my publications, you can check my publication page, my dblp profile, or my Google scholar profile. All my publications become available at some point in open access format on the ePrint archive; see the list here. My PhD thesis can be found here.


April 2022: Our Eurocrypt’22 paper, On Building Fine-Grained One-Way Functions from Strong Average-Case Hardness, has been invited to the Journal of Cryptology! In this work, we prove weak feasibility results and strong barriers for basing extremely limited forms of cryptography on powerful average-case hardness assumptions. Working on this paper has been a long, but thrilling journey with my amazing coauthor, Chris Brzuska.

January 2022: We just completed a book chapter for an upcoming book with Elette Boyle, Niv Gilboa, and Yuval Ishai. It is an up-to-date overview of homomorphic secret sharing, function secret sharing, and some of their many applications (including pseudorandom correlation generators). Check it out!


This website contains a few posts which might be useful to students in cryptography, gathered in the blog section. It includes in particular:

Students and postdocs

I have the pleasure to advise several amazing PhD students, and I will not be accepting any new PhD requests in the next year or so. However, I have openings for postdocs. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, secure computation, zero-knowledge proofs, post-quantum cryptography, code-based cryptography, and foundational aspects of cryptography (including black-box separations and connections to learning theory).

If you are interested, send me a mail and consider applying to the openings of the Algorithm and Complexity team of IRIF (around October 2023).

Past & Current students & postdocs Time period Status Notes
Sven Maier Nov. 2022 – Mar. 2023 Postdoc  
Christop Egger Oct. 2022 – Postdoc  
Alexander Koch Oct. 2022 – Postdoc  
Balthazar Bauer Oct. 2022 – Postdoc  
Elahe Sadeghi Jun. 2022 – Jul. 2022 Visiting Student  
Bui Dung Oct. 2021 – PhD Secure Computation for Privacy-Preserving Analysis of Medical Data
Clément Ducros Oct. 2021 – PhD Linear Codes for Quantum-Resistant Secure Computation (co-advised with Alain Couvreur)
Eliana Carozza Oct. 2021 – PhD Quantumly hard algebraic problems and their advanced cryptographic applications (co-advised with Antoine Joux)
Ulysse Léchine Oct.2021 – PhD Average-case hardness, entropy, and one-way functions (co-advised with Thomas Seiller)
Milan Gonzalez-Thauvin May 2021 – Jul. 2021 Internship Constructions of Non-Interactive Zero-Knowledge Proofs: Efficiency and Generality
Bui Dung Mar. 2021 – Aug. 2021 Master Batch equality tests and secure comparison from pseudorandom correlation generators
Clément Ducros Mar. 2021 – Aug. 2021 Master Secure computation meets linear-time encodable codes
Maryam Zarezadeh Nov. 2020 – Apr. 2021 Visiting student Non-interactive inner products from LPN. Maryam’s work led to a paper, presented at ASIACRYPT’22.
Pierre Meyer Sep. 2020 – PhD Secure computation with constrained communication (co-advised with Elette Boyle)
Elahe Sadeghi Jul. 2020 – Oct. 2020 Internship Statistical ZAPs from group-based assumptions. Elahe’s work led to a paper, presented at TCC’21.
Michael Reichle Feb. 2020 – Aug. 2020 Master Efficient range proofs with transparent setup from bounded integer commitments. Michael’s work led to a paper, presented at EUROCRYPT’21.
Pierre Meyer Nov. 2020 – Jan. 2020 Internship Breaking the circuit size barrier for secure computation under quasi-polynomial LPN. Pierre’s work led to a paper, presented at EUROCRYPT’21.
Dominik Hartmann Feb. 2019 – Aug. 2020 Master Compilers for non-interactive zero-knowledge proofs. Dominik’s work led to a paper, presented at CRYPTO’20.
Sebastian Faller Oct. 2018 – Feb. 2019 Bachelor Lattice-based implicit zero-knowledge arguments
Michael Reichle May 2018 – Sep. 2018 Bachelor Non-interactive keyed-verification anonymous credentials. Michael’s work led to a paper, presented at PKC’19.
Samuel Kopmann Nov. 2017 – Mar. 2018 Bachelor Improved designated-verifier non-interactive zero-knowledge arguments

Program Committee

The list of conferences and workshops where I served as a member of the committee.

Year Conferences/workshops
2019 TCC, WAHC